Gratitude 2 Music

He who hears music, feels his solitude peopled at once. ~Robert Browning

It’s true. When we feel something – be it being upset, heartbroken, happy, overjoyed, used, overwhelmed etc, we always use music as a medium to let our thoughts tune in with the song we are listening to. In doing so, we don’t just feel at peace, but we realize that we start focussing more on the words in the lyrics and not the music itself. We feel we are not alone.

I have my own particular sorrows, loves, delights; and you have yours. But sorrow, gladness, yearning, hope, love, belong to all of us, in all times and in all places. Music is the only means whereby we feel these emotions in their universality. ~H.A. Overstreet

Of course, some may prefer listening to instrumental music,that’s a different take and in my opinion it’s just a small percent of people really. That’s not my point at the moment. What I mean to say is that there are often times when that feeling is so heavy or strong, that we become overwhelmed and it becomes difficult to put our feelings into words. That’s where the singers, instrument players, choirs, music composers come in and put feelings to mere lyrics and the outcome is before us.

It has always surprised me how the lyricists and the music composers work in such synchronicity and come out with such a fine melody that almost anyone can relate to the feelings behind it. There are songs about love, pain, separation, weddings, revenge, parties…it goes on and on . You name it and you have a song which will relate to exactly how you really feel at that moment. I feel that’s amazing. The power of words, music and the instruments coming together to give you an experience which is beyond words to explain.

Music expresses feeling and thought, without language; it was below and before speech, and it is above and beyond all words. ~Robert G. Ingersoll

To me, music is my escape to another world. It holds such an important place in my day-to-day routine that I unconsciously use it to relax and enjoy regardless of what my feelings are. Be it being happy, sad, remembering certain memories related to a song [ when someone dedicates a song to you and more ], the list goes on.  So I thought, we appreciate the music while it lasts, but why not THANK it to put us through emotions which cannot be rightly justified by us alone ?

I wrote this to remind us all of how fortunate we are to be connected with the language of music. I would say it is the essence of our thoughts and feelings. No wonder we dedicate songs to our loved ones to let them know how deeply they mean to us and we care for them in a way which only music can justify.

So, Thank You . To everybody behind the scenes that create melodies and music. Because they make my life a beautiful and musical journey. The talented singers, music composers, the instruments and the talented people who play it, the chorus singers, everyone.

Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!

 It’s your combined efforts that give us such an everlasting, soulful piece of art – MUSIC. 🙂

P.S If you can give me few more minutes from your busy schedule then I’d like to share with you my 2 favourite songs at the moment. Meanwhile, please let me know of any errors I might possibly have made. This is my first, actual post on this blog and I welcome your feedback. Please do comment. Thank you !
Oh, and don’t forget the songs! [ They are in hindi but music doesn’t need language 🙂 ] 😀

11 thoughts on “Gratitude 2 Music”

Did you enjoy this post? Please let me know what you think :)

